ACCEPTED!

I’ve been accepted! Ahhh! I’ve been waiting for this moment for a long time, and it has finally come.

As you might know, I haven’t always wanted to work for Disney (well yes, in my dreams, but not as a realistic career option), but I’ve recently decided that I no longer want to pursue Dental Hygiene anymore, like I have in the past. Ever since I was little, it was always my dream to be a pediatric Hygienist, but since I’ve gotten hands on experience in a Dental office for the past 6 months, I’ve realized that I want to do bigger and better things. Not that Dental Hygiene is a bad career, but it is definitely not for me and I can’t see myself in a dental office my whole life. Sitting in one spot, not being able to carry on a conversation with people while I work, and working with a small team of coworkers in such a small place is unappealing to me.

This is how I decided I wanted to pursue Disney as a career and how I got into the Disney College Program.

I’ve always been a Disnerd (Disney nerd) and a fanatic of the company, so it was obvious to me that when I found out about this Disney College Program I would apply right away (no matter what my major was). I first applied in Fall of 2011 when I was a freshman in college. I barely knew anything about the program but I knew it would be an amazing opportunity! I mean, come on- it’s Disney! I applied pretty late and wasn’t given the opportunity to have a Web-Based-Interview (WBI), but I wasn’t too heart broken about it, because I knew I could apply again in the spring. So spring came around and I applied as soon as the applications came out. I not only got a WBI, but a Phone Interview (PI) as well! I was very excited, but I hardly prepared (at the time I didn’t think it was really necessary). Little did I know, it is very necessary to prepare and do research because a couple days later I got a “No Longer In Consideration” (NLIC) email. I was truly bummed  because I thought the interview went well since my interviewer was so nice and friendly and practically laughed at and agreed with everything I said. Turns out, they do that for pretty much everyone haha.

I’m a strong believer in fate and God’s will. Shortly after being NLIC’d, my dad past away. I know God didn’t let me be accepted into the Disney College Program (DCP), because I wouldn’t have been able to handle leaving my family right after that huge milestone in our lives. I thought that was my last opportunity to apply to the DCP since I needed to finish up my prerequisites for Dental Hygiene. The next year (Fall 2013) I saw on the DCP facebook page that applications were out again and since (I thought) I’d be done with my prerequisites, I decided  to go ahead and apply again for Spring 2014. This time I REALLY prepared for my PI. I actually over prepared (I think) because I didn’t get in… again. I sounded too rehearsed- I literally memorized all my answers and didn’t sound genuine enough. I was wait-listed so I obviously did something right, but I never actually got accepted. I thought this was my time. I joined the facebook group and made roommate arrangements, became good friends with people, and even flew out to Washington to meet my future roommate, Danika. Even though I didn’t get accepted, I at least made really great friends and got a ‘practice round’ out of it for next time.

I was very determined to apply (in Spring 2014) and get accepted for the DCP of Fall 2014, so even before applications came out I practiced, practiced, practiced! It was about the 3rd week of January that it kind of dawned on me that I didn’t really have the passion or interest for the dental field anymore. Because I was so focused on the DCP, I noticed that Disney is where I want my future. I didn’t know what I would change my major to, but I knew where I would start and figure out my calling- DISNEYLAND. I applied on February 9th, 2 days after applications came out and had my PI on the 19th. This was the first time that I applied to both parks (Disneyland and Disney World) and the first time I was receptive to EVERY role. I put a preference in Disneyland Resort (DLR), but I knew that I would rather work in Walt Disney World (WDW) and work any role, then not work for Disney at all. I definitely wanted  to practice and be prepared, but at the same time, I wanted to sound very genuine and natural. I had my interview and a week and a half later, I got accepted on March 1st! I was so happy and relieved. All my hard work and determination had finally paid off! I know that God had a plan for me even though it was hard to accept. I believe I was accepted AFTER I realized I didn’t want to pursue Dental Hygiene, so I could take the program more seriously and professional- like so I could focus on where I want to be within the company.

I really want to take a hold of all the opportunities presented so I can really work my way up in the company. This program offers networking, classes (that even count as credit towards my degree), personal attention from mangers/teachers, and so much more! I’m beyond blessed and grateful for being offered the position of Custodial (my first choice!) at Disneyland (only about 300 participants are accepted) for Fall 2014 (Aug 20th -Jan 5th). It’s funny how we think we know which path we’re going to take and what our future will look like, but in actuality, only He knows:)

And if you’ve made it this far, THANK YOU! I know it’s a long post hahah

dcp
This is my acceptance email!

IMG_20140323_123440

My Congratulations post card!

dcp position

And as I end this post, I’ll leave you with a quote from one of the most inspiring men I know
“All our dreams can come true- if we have the courage to pursue them.”
-Walt Disney

beth 2

Leave a comment