Why Custodial?

I’m sure a lot of people feel sorry for me when I say I got the role of Custodial or say “Eww, you want to be a janitor?” Well let me clear this up, I’m so happy and excited I got custodial! It was actually my first pick!

I think it’s actually kind of funny, because when I applied to the DCP the first 3 times, I put ‘no interest’ under Custodial. I thought that this role was the lowest, worst, and most undesirable role in the DCP. After doing my research, I found out that this role in fact has the most guest interaction and pretty much everyone who got this role, loved it and did not regret accepting the role!

Here are a few reasons why I choose Custodial as my number one choice:
1. It has the most guest interaction. Sure I have to clean the bathrooms and do the trash, but that’s only part of my shift. Custodians are the most available cast member to answer guests’ questions and start up conversations with them. If you think about it, I’ll pretty much be traveling “Guest service booth.”
2. The other part is just freely walking around talking to guests as I sweep up the streets. This is the only role that you actually get to roam around in your area, not be on a strict time limit, and are not constantly supervised (of course I’ll have bathroom checks and trash runs, but that doesn’t consume the whole shift).
3. I will get to pin trade! Yay, I love pins (but not as much as I love Vinylmations), and getting the opportunity to interact with guests and helping beget magical experiences will be so much fun! I know I like going up to cast members to pin trade, and now I’ll be at the other end of this experience!
4. I will get to do water art! If you’ve never heard of this, it’s pretty much exactly what it sounds like. It’s a new thing that Disney has started where Custodial cast members take a broom and water and draw Disney characters on the street for guests! It’s like putting on a little show<3 and I even get to have guests participate in this magical experience!
5. I get to make the park look sparkly clean!:D I take pride in my work and I love making sure everything is clean, organized, and perfect. I want to make sure that the first guest in the park and the last guest in the park get to experience the same cleanliness. There should be no reason why the park should look messy at the end of the day, and I’m so happy that I get to assure that!

Here’s an awesome video showing you exactly what I’ll be doing as Custodial in Disneyland!:)

beth 2

Leave a comment