“If you want it Magical, keep it clean”- Walt Disney

“When I started on Disneyland, my wife used to say, ‘But why do you want to build an amusement park? They’re so dirty.’ I told her that was just the point – mine wouldn’t be.” – Walt Disney

Walt-Picking-Up-Trash-with-Trash-Bin-300x201

Walt Disney himself (everyone’s a custodian at Disneyland)

Today was our 3rd day of training and it was even more magical! We got more time on stage then in the class room, score!!

We started out learning how to sweep so we went down Main Street to clean pre-parade. When we were done we stayed behind stage until the parade went by and then followed it all the way to Small World. I even got some guest interaction just by sweeping believe it or not. 

After lunch we got to learn how to sweep the attraction lines (queues). So we went to Fantasy land to learn which was closed for the fire works so that was nice so we could learn without feeling awkward of embarrassed of not knowing exactly what to do. Usually you would sweep while people are in line (whether you follow the line or go against it).

Once we were done, we learned how to do post-fireworks clean up on main street. While waiting for them to end we got an awesome view of them right next to Pixie Hollow and we literately just stood there and watched them (unlike yesterday when we were walking and couldn’t even hear the music).

All in all, training keeps getting better and better. Honestly I’m sad that tomorrow is my last day of training! I hope to see my fellow DCP custodians around often (since we’ll be working by ourselves a lot). Even though my back hurts, my arms ache from sweeping, and my feet are blistery from new shoes, I wouldn’t trade it for any other job!

beth 2

Leave a comment