2nd day in the DCP

After spending our first night in our new home we had to wake up bright and early the next morning for orientation. The orientation was pretty much just meeting the program directors and being welcomed/introduced to the program. I definitely left very grateful to be one of the very select few chosen for this Disneyland College Program (a very small percent of people who apply get accepted). Although they said numbers and gave statistics I honestly can’t remember but I know I gasped at the sound of percentage. It makes me feel so blessed to be apart of this program and I’m proud of my determination to get in!

It went from 8:30 to 10:30am and this was the first time we got to go “back stage.” Needless to say, it was very VIP feeling as we got to see things that not everyone gets to see. After orientation we wanted to go to lunch, but since it was still early we had to “waste” a little time so we shopped around for a while.

When we were done, Kayla and Silvina suggested we went over to Buffalo Wild Wings (their favorite place) since they had 70 cent wings on Thursday. So we ate over there and then headed back to the apartment for a Program Success Session which was a 3 hour session teaching us how to be successful in different aspects of our program. It was actually really informative and helpful so I’m definitely glad I went. For going to all 6 session, we got to be placed in a drawing to win something at the Welcome Party that night.

By the time it ended we had 1 hour until the Welcome party started, so we went back to our rooms and got ready. We headed down stairs to the entrance of our apartment and we saw balloon decorations, food, a photo booth, a DJ, and prizes to be won.

DSC00034

We took this picture right before we headed down to the party.
Behind us you can see the key hooks Silvina made for each of us!

DSC00036
DSC00040
DSC00046
DSC00047
DSC00052
DSC00059

I caught myself saying to Silvina, “A few days ago at check-in…” and I realized right after that it was only yesterday that we checked in and moved in. The time had been flying by sooo quickly and we had been so busy that it feels like we were already there for a few days!

Each of us won something at the party!
DSC00063

I won a kitchen utensil pot for doing ‘the best Michael Jackson move’
DSC00064

Katie brought home a box of pizza
DSC00066

Kayla won the Program Success Session prize which lets her have priority registration for any event she wants
DSC00067

Silvina won a gift certificate to a Mexican restaurant for answering who sings some Spanish song  
DSC00068

Christine won a rice cooker by finding another Southern California college person (wearing school shirts) and running up to the DJ

20000101_010443

Our photo booth pictures!
20000101_020639 (1)

It was by far the best party I’ve been to in a while and that was all thanks to not only the program (putting it all together), but my awesome roommates who made it what it was.

You would think our night was over by then but nope, we decided to go grocery shopping (3 different stores) when we got back up to our room. So we got back late but at least we got all our food for the next two weeks and got it out of the way.

I was so glad that I had the next day off after these BUSY last two days!

Stay tuned for my Traditions (first day of work) blog!

beth 2

Leave a comment