Dapper Day in Fatasyland

Friday was my first Dapper Day at Disneyland! For those who don’t know what Dapper Day is, it’s a well-known event that Disney fans created where guests dress up in their most fashionable olden day attire. It takes place twice a year in Disneyland, Disney World, and Disneyland Paris. It started in 2011, but I didn’t learn about it until Spring 2014 when they had the first one of the year. As soon as I heard about it I was excited to know that I’d be in the Disney College Program at the time of the Fall 2014 one.

Unfortunately, I had to work the prime hours that Dapper Day was occurring but I made the most of it while still having to wear my costume.

IMG_0865

I worked Fantasyland for the first time and although it was the hottest it’s been since I’ve been here and I had to do trash, it was still really fun! I enjoyed looking at everyone’s Dapper Day outfits and talking to the kids. Some people get REALLY into Dapper Day and have awesome outfits. Some even Disney Bound, which means they dress like a Disney Character or Disney inspired in their dapper outfit.

I was excited that I got called to clean up a spill in Snow White’s Scary Adventure and walk though the attraction! It was a very small spill but it was cool seeing it with the lights on.

After my shift, I got changed to meet my roommate Christine in the park. I wanted to previously go to the thrift store and get a really good outfit for the day but I never got a chance, so I just through something together the day before. My phone died and I couldn’t find her where we planned on meeting, so after 2 hours of a very frustrating and stressful situation, I decided to just go home and charge my phone.

I went back to the park and we finally found each other and had one 2 hours left until the park closed so we made the most of it and headed over to the Carousel. I got to ride Jingles, the lead horse who was painted gold for the 50th anniversary and then later dedicated to Julie Andrews in honor of the carousel horse she rides in the movie.

DSC00320
DSC00324
DSC00325
DSC00336
DSC00334
IMG_0869
IMG_0870
IMG_0872

After the Carousel, Christine and I only had enough time for one more ride so we decided to go on Pirates. On the way out I decided to take some dapper pictures to go with my outfit. I even got to see the best dressed mouse around, Mickey!

I can’t wait till next Dapper Day when I can plan out my outfit and put more effort into it!

beth 2

Leave a comment