Possibly the best shift ever

Tonight I closed New Orleans and it could quite possibly be my favorite shift ever. It’s kind of funny because I traded this shift with someone just 2 days ago so if I had worked the Esplanade, like I was suppose to, my night would have gone way different. I ended up working with one of my favorite leads and some other co-workers I had never really worked with before. I made new friends quickly as we talked and joked backstage. We start talking about what “ratchet” means and one thing leads to another and my lead turns on “Selfie” to have our co-worker hear what the song is. Being me, I start to dance and we’re all cracking up so I start making up dance moves similar to the lawn mower, the sprinkler, the shopping cart, ect. but for custodial things! So I made up the “pan and broom,” “airing out the trash bag,” tying up the trash bag,” “putting the new bag in,” “using the compactor,” “pushing the liner,” “wiping down the trash can,” cleaning up a code,” the mop,” “push brooming,” and “liner and picker.”

After we laughed until my lead almost peed her pants, our manager came back to check up on us. So I casually show my moves to my manager and he legitly loves them! He even made up his own dance move, “the pipe draining.” He tells me how he seriously wants me to show these moves off to the other managers and starts talking about how we need to have an event to have everyone see them.

Since I’m working New Orleans I get to help with Fantasmic clean up and since I’ve never seen the show, I watch it… twice… and I got paid to do it! It was such an amazing show and I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to see the whole thing. Earlier that night I was sweeping near Club 33 and I saw some guests waiting to get in, so I stood around to see what the entrance looked like on the inside. About 10 minutes go by and they’re still waiting, so I go up to them and talk to them asking if they’re waiting to get in… turned out they were at the wrong door… the old one. I had known they had renovated Club 33 and changed the entrance but they looked confident on what they were doing so I didn’t say anything until I realized they weren’t so confident about the door. When I told them about the renovations they were so happy so I offered to walk them over to the new door. When the Club 33 cast member opened the door I was probably a little more excited then I should have been to see the inside entrance haha. When that was over I ran into my friend Taylor and her old co-worker. She did the last program (and an AZ kid) and I’m Facebook friends with her so it was super cool to see a familiar face and chat for a bit.

I also got to pin trade, hand out a TON of buttons and stickers and make my first MAGICAL MOMENT! OH! and I got to clean (with a leaf blower) the Haunted Mansion doombuggies (which usually only the leads do, but my lead let me)… it was nothing super special but it was fun and I found a NICKEL (like little Mike in Monster’s University haha).

At the end of the night I went to the managers office to get a Four Keys Card signed for my co-worker and my manager was like, “but no, seriously, let’s make this happen… think about performing your dance moves either by your self or recruit other custodial cast members and you can do it at an event, like the next cast event.” It made my night on how much he liked it and how dead serious he was about making this a thing.

It was honestly the best shift ever. Thank God, because this is what i really needed this week!

then I made new friends
then Nick said “girllllllll”
then Nick and I made a magical night
then I handed out a million buttons
then I created the best dance moves ever
then Bre almost peed her pants
then someone snap chatted me dancing
then we all laughed and laughed and laughed
then I saw Fantasmic for the first time
then I made John into a skeleton with my bone cheetos via iphone camera
then I cleaned doombuggies
then a grass-hopper flew on Marlene’s shoulder and we didn’t realize it until we were down stairs in Haunted Mansion’s basement
then light-up Tink came to visit us
then Marlene and I went on an adventure to get coffee
then Sarena came to visit me #shetouchedthebutt
then I became my manager’s favorite #sorrynotsorry
then we sang closing time on the cast shuttle

beth 2

Leave a comment