Main Street is my favorite!

Today I my teacher from AZ who I’m getting college credit from came to Disneyland with her family and wanted to visit with me. It was nice being able to talk with her about the program and she even gave me a small gift, a 2014 Mickey pin. After my visit with her I went to work and got to sweep all of Main Street. This shift was a little different because I didn’t have any restrictions on where I had to sweep, plus the sun was still up, which I prefer so I can see everything and everyone.

I love sweeping right in front of the castle because I instantly become a Photo-pass Photographer haha. People ask me to take pictures for them, but I love it even more when I offer because they seem so grateful! Another amazing feeling is guest’s compliments. I haven’t gotten a guest compliment on paper. but I get compliments from guest everyday thanking me personally on how clean the park is. It makes me proud to be a custodian and humbled that I can help make it spotless.

Speaking of cleaning, I cleaned up the parade today and instead of pan and brooming like usually, I was push broom for the first time since someone didn’t show up for the shift. I had never done it before so I was a little uneasy about it since I’ve heard it was hard, but after clean-up my lead told me I did an awesome job and thanked me since she knew I was a little unsure about it.

I got a bunch more buttons from City Hall today and gave a few to some kids after I took their picture in front of the castle. It was their first time in Disneyland ever, so I was so happy to have been able to capture that memory for them and give them First Visit buttons. I pin traded for a little while this afternoon/evening too, but the most interesting about my day was seeing someone arrested in Disneyland for the first time. As I walked backstage I saw security hauling off some kid (like 19) with a smirk on his face. I don’t know why people would commit crimes in Disneyland, I mean it’s the Happiest Place on Earth! I overheard him saying he was trespassing so I guess he was trying to sneak in so he could be happy. Well I’m sure the Disneyland ticket is cheaper then his bail, hope he learns to just buy a ticket next time if he’s ever aloud back in.

beth 2

Leave a comment